No Excuses: Update

As I mentioned in a previous post I recently started grad school, but I haven’t let it keep me from my workouts. I’m still lifting 2-3 days a week and doing cardio or yoga 1-2 days a week. Being busy with work, school, and other aspects of my life has made me look forward to my workouts more than ever. Going to the gym is a delightful way to de-stress between homework sessions. I have however found myself to be in a forever bulking phase of training. Since beginning school a few weeks ago my diet has suffered drastically. Having not made the time to plan meals, I find myself eating junk food way more than i’d like to acknowledge. Posted below are this weeks progress pics which in my opinion show muscle mass progress but also extra weight. Could any of your offer advice for eating health on a crazy busy schedule or offer food suggestions of any kind. Building muscle mass has been one of the main goals of my training up until this point, now i’d like to move forward with some “toning”. Any suggestions with that would also be really welcomed. Until next time all have a wonderful rest of your weekend 🙂

ImageImageImage

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
6 comments on “No Excuses: Update
  1. magnuminsp says:

    I am going for a 10 mile run now, but I give you some advice tomorrow.

  2. Colin DeWaay says:

    You touched on it yourself a bit, gotta plan meals. Do a meal prep on the weekend and make all your meals for the week. You are absolutely right if you don’t plan ahead of time it gets very difficult. Good luck man!

  3. Thank you for sharing your journey with us! I would love to talk with you about your health goals. Can we touch base via email?

      • magnuminsp says:

        Sorry I took so long to reply!
        As others have pointed out, meals is the first step. Good in, good out!
        If you don’t have it already, get MyFitnessPal for your phone and desktop. You can keep track of your meals and fitness. There is also a message board.

        Next, use the information that the program provides. You are gluten free and a vegan. I would bet, you are not eating enough. You need 1200 calories a day, just for proper brain function. If you do not eat enough, your body goes into survival mode and stores fat. Then, it starts looking for something else to use as fuel. Protein. Since protein is used for building muscle, growth will be limited.
        Your situation is unique. So is mine. I am gluten intolerant, fructose intolerant, lactose intolerant, just basically, as my wife says, intolerant! I just want you you know where I am coming from, so to speak.

        Training. Way back in the 80s, I hung around a bunch of guys who were bodybuilders…or wanted to be. I didn’t partake in some of the things they did, remember, this was the 80s, but as far as the training went, I was right there with them.

        It is a simple formula. For mass, low repetition, usually 6 repetitions, for 5 sets, using heavy weight. You have to build the muscle, before you can tone it.

        For toning, light weight for high reps,3- 5 sets.
        Here is what I do now, and bear in mind, I am 53 years old!
        Heavy days:
        Bench press: 5 sets, 6 reps, 225 pounds.
        Biceps curl: 5 sets, 6 reps, 130 pounds.
        Triceps pull down: 5 sets, 6 reps, 135 pounds.
        Light days:
        Bench press: 3 sets, 20 reps, 135 pounds
        Biceps curls: 3 sets, 20 reps, 70 pounds.
        Triceps pull down: 3 sets, 20 reps, 80 pounds.

        That is just a simple chest and arms workout. One other thing, you do not need to use five different exercises for one muscle group, unless you are training for a Mr. Universe competition! My average workout lasts 45 minutes, at the most. If you are close to your gym and have a bicycle, ride it to and from the gym. This will sneak in some cardio using your bigger muscles, your legs.

        You can come up with the weight that works best for you.

        In order to show your abs, I am afraid there is only one way to do that. Weight loss. You can do all the sit ups, crunches, and any other wild workout you want, I used to do sit-ups holding a 45 pound plate on my chest, but weight loss is the only thing that will show your abs.

        For that, you need to burn more calories than you take in. That doesn’t mean cut your intake from 2200 to 1100. It means, burn 2300-2500 calories. The safest way, at least what I have found to be the safest, is a bike ride, stationary bike, or an elliptic machine. These save wear and tear on your joints. Later in life, you will thank me!

        You can combine a weight training program, with a cardio training program. That along with a proper diet, will give you the gains you seek.

        Do not be afraid to cheat on a diet and actually, with you, it isn’t really a diet, it is what your food options are.
        Back in the training days, I ate chicken,rice, potatoes, tuna, egg whites and drank water six days a week. Saturday was cheat day. You could eat whatever you wanted. And back then, I was on a 3000 calorie a day diet. Saturday night would be an entire pizza, a large one, and a few beers, as an example.

        Sorry for the long post, but I hope this helps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

