Spartan Race

Well it’s been a while since I’ve posted, this past month has been super crazy. Just in the past few weeks, I’ve moved from an apartment to a house, prepared the new house (painting, ect), cleaned the old place, got a dog, shot multiple weddings, on top of my regular job and workouts. Now that my schedule is starting to settle down I finally have time to get you all up to date. 

This past saturday I met my goal of completing the Spartan Sprint. On the drive to the event I was so nervous, I had no idea what to expect (throwing up was a possibility). I get checked up, get marked, and get to the starting line. The announcer starts my heat and after a few minutes I’m not sure what I’ve gotten myself into. All of the running between obstacles is either a very steep incline or slope, no breaks! As you can imagine the obstacles get more challenging as the race goes on. There a a couple obstacles I probably wouldn’t have been able to complete if my fellow spartans didn’t offer help and encouragement.

One thing that can be said about this race, the competitors are awesome. There is a strong feeling of fellowship and bond between everyone that has subjected themselves to this challenge. Paying it forward was the name of the game. At one obstacle I would be given a boost over a wall, the next I would be the one giving the boost. I reached the finish line bloody, exhausted, and feeling like a million bucks. This race was one of the hardest things I’ve ever accomplished and I cannot wait to do it again next year.

I need to thank all the wonderful staff and trainers at Fit Stop 24 in Olympia. All of there help with my training over the past 10 months was huge factor in my success. 

My wife is also VERY deserving of a shout out, she was super encouraging and wonderful throughout my training and beyond. I was also lucky that Hannah was such a good sport and took great photos of the event throughout the day. 

 

P.S. I should now be able to post more regularly 🙂 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
8 comments on “Spartan Race
  1. MichelleK says:

    Congrats! Great photos 🙂

  2. Jenny Baird says:

    Heck yeah! I love the photos! This race really intimidates me. I had a co worker try to convince me to do the 1/2 marathon of this race and I think perhaps by next summer I will be ready. Hats off to you!

  3. jsresults says:

    Awesome job!! Huge congrats on your accomplishment! My Spartan is this Saturday CANT WAIT!!

  4. Malin says:

    A big congratulation to you…well done!

  5. Hannah says:

    shoutout to my husband! for being super inspiring and amazing all the time

  6. jaketiesler says:

    Keep killing it man! Good work!

  7. jakemcnam says:

    Congrats on meeting your goal. Awesome pictures!
    Did you take any supplements during the run? How long of a run is a Spartan Race?

Leave a Reply

