First Workout of 2013

Tonight was the first session of bodypump for the year as well as my first workout of the year. The instructor once again changed the routine a little which made it quite difficult, my body is on fire!!! It was quite rewarding through, I feel amazing that I made it through. Though the course of the workout I discovered that I was not doing squats properly. I was placing my weight on the front of my feet instead of my heels. Now that my weight is being pushed back to my heels I don’t get pain in my feet and my thighs got a much better workout. It was also January 2nd which meant that the class was fuller than usual, had to be in the front for the first time, pretty scary. I have mixed feeling about working out in January. One one hand it’s great that so many people workout but it is going to make the next few weeks pretty crowded.

As usual here are my weekly progress pics. Now that I work out regularly I have been experiencing  body acne. Has anyone else experienced this after starting to work out regularly? Any suggestions on how to treat it?

IMG_8039 IMG_8041

Lastly I would like to set some goals for 2013.

1. Workout 3 at least 3 times a week for the entire year.

2. Go to a beach/ water park without feeling body shame

3. Run a spartan race

I’m going to try my hardest to achieve these goals and hope everyone else is able to keep their goals. Have a great start to the year 🙂

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Fitness
9 comments on “First Workout of 2013
  1. jsresults says:

    Awesome Job on the BODYPUMP class! Keep up the great work those classses burn TONS of calories!. And you should definitely sign up for a Spartan Race! Sign up now for the deadline! Once you set a deadline mentally you will just crank it to a whole new level! THis link will give you 15% off. Use the Code RESOLUTION http://link.p0.com/u.d?D4Gtn05ZEiStsb_aYC1le=3761

  2. Colin DeWaay says:

    Awesome news man way to go! Keep it up, you won’t be disappointed!

  3. Holly J says:

    Oooh, Spartan Race. You brave soul. My boyfriend wants to take part in one, but I’m scared. I do have plans to do the zombie run though!

  4. kliving80 says:

    You can do it and you will! Can’t wait to see the results of all of your hard work!

  5. Good luck for 2013, I’ve never done Bodypump but I can remember friends telling me how much they enjoyed it. Your squat technique will improve with increased flexibility around your ankle joint, weak adductors can skew your technique too. This will improve over time, if you are above average in height you may need to adopt a wider squat stance and slowly increase squatting depth. Exercise induced acne is quite common, showering and drying post-workout is essential, if you are concerned maybe ask your Dr/GP for some dermatalogical soap. keep up the goodwork!

  6. emilyalicia says:

    Keep up the good work!
    Try using an exfoliating brush (the ones with the wooden handles work well) and antibacterial soap immediately after your workout – may help with the breakouts 😉 Looking forward to seeing your progress throughout the year!

  7. doctorlynn says:

    Squats are an excellent exercise and now that your form is right you’ll see great benefits!

Leave a Reply

